farmland access hub partners

A collective initiative of many partners, the Farmland Access Hub combines the expertise and connections of these collaborators to effectively provide new farmers with an integrated, supportive process to help them gain affordable and secure access to farmland.

The Hub offers workshops, day long boot camps, and one-on-one coaching with Farmland Access Navigators. Our technical advisors include attorneys, real estate professionals, financial experts, and seasoned farmers.

 

The Farmland Access Hub is coordinated by:

Renewing the Countryside
Renewing the Countryside strengthens rural areas by supporting rural communities, farmers, artists, entrepreneurs, and many more by sharing stories of rural renewal, building awareness and support for sustainable endeavors, connecting people interested in sustainable rural development, providing practical assistance and networking opportunities, and fostering connections between urban and rural people.
Minneapolis, MN - Jan Joannides, jan@rtcinfo.org

Compeer Financial
Compeer Financial is a member-owned, Farm Credit cooperative serving and supporting agriculture and rural communities through providing loans, leases, risk management and other financial services.
Mankato, MN - Sai Thao, Sai.Thao@compeer.com

The Conservation Fund
The Conservation Fund encourages and protects sustainable agriculture through its acquisitions and loans, which ensure that not only are farms and ranch lands protected forever, but that they remain in working production.
Minnesota - Kim Berns-Melhus, kberns@conservationfund.org

Dakota County
The County's land conservation efforts inventory, identify and prioritize farmland and natural areas for protection.
Dakota County, MN - Al Singer, al.singer@co.dakota.mn.us

Farmers’ Legal Action Group
Farmers’ Legal Action Group (FLAG) is a nonprofit law center dedicated to providing legal services and support to family farmers and their communities in order to help keep family farmers on the land.
St. Paul, MN - Scott Carlson, Scarlson@flaginc.org

The Good Acre
The Good Acre takes the role of a food hub and adds the spokes, the wheels, and the help to keep them turning through exploring and developing cutting-edge programs and productive partnerships.
Falcon Heights, MN - Rhys Williams, rhys@thegoodacre.org

Hmong American Partnership
Hmong American Partnership's agriculture program works directly with beginning farmers and builds relations between them and local and regional markets through culturally specific professional development training.
Minneapolis, MN - Maix, maix@hmong.org

Hmong American Farmers Association
Hmong American Farmers Association's work is grounded in strong communitarian values and based around a Whole Food Model, which acknowledges that land access, new markets, trainings and capacity building, financing, and research and data collection are 5 distinct, but interrelated components to building intergenerational and community wealth.
St. Paul, MN - Pakou Hang, pakou@hmongfarmers.com

Iroquois Valley Farms
Iroquois Valley Farmland REIT is an organic farmland finance company that provides farmer-friendly leases and mortgages to the next generation of organic farmers.
Evanston, IL

Lakewinds Food Co-op
Lakewinds has served the highest-quality organic and sustainably raised food from as close by as they can get it, and Lakewinds is committed to working to minimize our impact on the earth.
Minnesota - Dale Woodbeck, Dalew@lakewinds.com

Land for Good
Land for Good works to ensure the future of farming in New England by putting more farmers more securely on more land.
Keene, NH - Kathy Ruhf, kathy@landforgood.org

Land Stewardship Project
Land Stewardship Project works to foster an ethic of stewardship for farmland, to promote sustainable agriculture and to develop healthy communities in order to create transformational change in our food and farming system. 
Minneapolis
, MN - Karen Stettler, stettler@landstewardshipproject.org

Main Street Project
Main Street Project currently focuses on demonstration farms to document the viability, sustainability and scalability of poultry-centered regenerative agriculture system. 
Northfield, MN - Bob Kell, bkell@mainstreetproject.org
 and Julie Ristau, jristau@mainstreetproject.org 

Midwest Organic and Sustainable Education Service
Midwest Organic and Sustainable Education Service promotes organic and sustainable agriculture by providing the education, resources and expertise farmers need to succeed. 
Spring Valley, WI - Jennifer Nelson, jennifer@mosesorganic.org

Mighty Axe Hops
As the fourth generation in his family to live on the land, Eric Sannerud is an active farm advocate. He likes to take the long view on hops production, how do we tend our yard so that it will continue to produce decades into the future? 
Foley, MN - Eric Sannerud, ericsannerud@gmail.com 

Minnesota Department of Agriculture
Minnesota Department of Agriculture's mission is to enhance Minnesotans' quality of life by ensuring the integrity of our food supply, the health of our environment, and the strength of our agricultural economy.
St. Paul, MN - Becky Balk, becky.balk@state.mn.us

Minnesota Farmers Union
Minnesota Farmers Union works to protect and enhance the economic interests and quality of life of family farmers and ranches and rural communities.
St. Paul, MN - Bruce Miller, bruce@mfu.org 

Minnesota Food Association / The Food Group
The Minnesota Food Association works to build a sustainable food system based on social, economic, and environmental justice through education, training and partnerships. 
New Hope, MN - Laura Hedeen, laura@mnfoodassociation.org

Minnesota Institute for Sustainable Agriculture
The Minnesota Institute for Sustainable Agriculture brings together the diverse interests of the agricultural community with interests from across the University community in a cooperative effort to develop and promote sustainable agriculture in Minnesota and beyond. 
St. Paul, MN - Helene Murray, murra021@umn.edu

Practical Farmers of Iowa
Practical Farmers of Iowa equips farmers to build resilient farms and communities with the vision to create an Iowa with healthy soil, healthy food, clean air, clean water, resilient farms and vibrant communities.
Ames, IA - Greg Padget, greg@practicalfarmers.org
 

Sustainable Farming Association
The Sustainable Farming Association advances environmental stewardship, economic resilience and strong, diverse communities through farmer-to-farmer networking, education, demonstration and research. 
Minneapolis, MN - Theresa Keaveny, theresa@sfa-mn.org

Twin Cities Community Agricultural Land Trust
The Twin Cities Community Agricultural Land Trust is a community driven network that provides advocacy, holds land, facilitates and advocates for affordable ownership and/or leasing of agricultural land by growers, and connects stakeholders to resources and education for people seeking long term, affordable land access to grow food.
Minneapolis, MN - Valentine Cadieux, 
kvcadieux01@hamline.edu

University of Minnesota Extension
University of Minnesota Extension discovers science-based solutions, delivers practical education, and engages Minnesotans to build a better future.
St. Paul, MN